is responsible to Parliament, and, as the acting head of the Executive, summons, prorogues, and dissolves Parliament and assents to or reserves bills. In the discharge of these and other executive duties, he acts entirely by and with the advice of his Ministry (the Governor General in Council). The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor General's own judgment and responsibility, is now exercised pursuant to the advice of the Ministry. The practice whereby the Governor General served as the medium of communication between the Canadian and the British Governments has been given up; since July 1, 1927, direct communication between His Majesty's Government in Canada and His Majesty's Government in Great Britain has been instituted.

A list of the Governors General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

1.—Governors	General of	Canada,	1867-1938.
<u></u>			1

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Date of Assumption of Office.	
Viscount Monek, G.C.M.G	June 1, 1867	July 1, 1867	
Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G	Dec. 29, 1868	Feb. 2, 1869	
The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G	May 22, 1872	June 25, 1872	
The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G	Oct. 5, 1878	Nov. 25, 1878	
The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G	Aug. 18, 1883	Oct. 23, 1883	
Lord Stanley of Preston, G.C.B	May 1, 1888	June 11, 1888	
The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G	May 22, 1893	Sept. 18, 1893	
The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G	July 30, 1898	Nov. 12, 1898	
Earl Grey, G.C.M.G.	Sept. 26, 1904	Dec. 10, 1904	
Field Marshall H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G	Mar. 21, 1911	Oct. 13, 1911	
The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O		Nov. 11, 1916	
General the Lord Byng of Vimy, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O		Aug. 11, 1921	
Viscount Willingdon of Ratton, G.C.S.I., G.C.I.E., G.B.E		Oct. 2, 1926	
The Earl of Bessborough, G.C.M.G		April 4, 1931	
Lord Tweedsmuir of Elsfield, G.C.M.G., C.H		Nov. 2, 1935	

Subsection 2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although one Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, while other Ministers may be without portfolio.

The Prime Ministers since Confederation and the dates of their tenures of office, together with the members of the Sixteenth Ministry, are given in Table 2. The complete list of the members of the King's Privy Council for Canada, as at Mar. 1, 1938, is added as Table 3.